Saluda Factory Ruins and Ruins of Old State Road Bridge


I’m so sorry it’s been awhile updating this blog.  I haven’t found anything really new in South Carolina lately.  SO…if anyone who reads this blog knows of any unique hidden places or ruins in South Carolina, let me know!  Any information from the following post is from this site.

This Saturday, I went to visit the Riverbanks Zoo.  I saw lots of lovely animals.

Flamingos at the Zoo

Flamingos at the Zoo

Sleepy Bear at the Zoo

Sleepy Bear at the Zoo

Tiger at the Zoo

Tiger at the Zoo

However, we went to see the gardens.  Along the way, we stopped by the ruins of of the Old State Road Bridge that was burned by Confederates.  You can see this bridge from the bridge separating the Zoo and Gardens.   Here are a few photos.

This bridge was burned by Confederates to slow Sherman's advance.

This bridge was burned by Confederates to slow Sherman’s advance.

Middle Section of Old State Bridge across the Saluda

Final Section of Ruins of Bridge.

Final Section of Ruins of Bridge.

What surprised me the most was stumbling on to a path behind the zoo.  This property is owned and protected by Riverbanks Zoo.   I found out later that this path lead to the Saluda Factory ruins, which I had heard of before.   What I hadn’t heard before was Sherman’s Rock.  Supposedly, there is a rock that Sherman stood on, on the eve of the shelling of Columbia.   I think it might be the rock in this picture, it was a massive boulder, but I can’t be sure.  Next time I’ll ask a worker if they know.

Sherman's Rock?

Sherman’s Rock?….Honestly there were a lot of boulders so it could have been any of them.

I did not know much about the Saluda River Factory.  According to Riverbanks Zoo, it was built in 1830 and one of South Carolina’s Oldest Textile Mills.  If so, that pre-dates Graniteville Textiles, which I had assumed to be the oldest textile mill in South Carolina by 15 years.  You can read more about Graniteville in my post here.

The mill was destroyed by Sherman, but rebuilt after the Civil War.  I do not know if they used the same stones and structure, but it accidentally burnt down in 1884.  According to Riverbanks, the ruins include “remnants of the granite foundations of the mill, picking house and millrace” (Riverbanks History).  The mill at one point produced uniforms for Confederate soldiers, so burning it was strategic for Sherman’s Advance.

After traveling the trail we found the ruins.  The following pictures are of the Saluda Factory.

Abandoned granite blocks being chipped out of boulders. This was actually near the end of the path, but these were left behind after the fire.

Abandoned granite blocks being chipped out of boulders. This was actually near the end of the path, but these were left behind after the fire.

This shows where they let the water in for the mill.  No, I do not know what it's called. :)

This shows where they let the water in for the mill. No, I do not know what it’s called. :)

Sign about the Factory

We actually went around and looked into the ruins. I suggest that you do not do the same. We saw a trail, and assumed it was ok to do so. Sadly, even though I took a picture of this sign, I did not read carefully, and trespassed accidentally. You can see the ruins easily enough from the viewing platform they have built. There were quite a few beer bottles and trash scattered about, so please respect the wishes of the zoo. Had I not been so excited to see the ruins, I would have been more careful :P.

Ruins

Keystone Arch....very cool that it's still standing, but I don't know it's purpose.

Keystone Arch….very cool that it’s still standing, but I don’t know it’s purpose.

Ruins of Factory

Overgrowth of ruins

Since my knowledge of mills of the 1800’s are very limited, I do not know what structures these originally were.   At Riverbanks, you can visit the Saluda Factory Interpretive Center, but when we arrived, it was closed.    They may be of further assistance if you choose to visit this area.  It is very public, as long as you pay the zoo fee.   It’s a very good deal for a day at the zoo, and a trip back into time!  Plus you get to meet this guy!

OstrichIf you know any more about the ruins or any other places in SC, don’t hesitate to let me know!

About Elizabeth L.

I'm just a Social Studies teacher in South Carolina. I've always been fascinated with the history of this state, and I guess I just want more people to be aware of some of the not -so- visited areas of the state. If you have any submissions or places I should see, please let me know!
This entry was posted in History, South Carolina. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Saluda Factory Ruins and Ruins of Old State Road Bridge

  1. Carl D. says:

    Actually that photo is not of Sherman’s Rock. Sherman’s Rock is up the bank a considerable distance from the river and juts out from the side of a hilltop; that’s why there is the legend that Sherman stood on top of it so could see Columbia burn from up there.. It has a hollowed out area underneath it which teenagers, before the zoo got the property, used to go to hang out.

    Having grown up in the area and spending many summers at the river, part of me is sad that young people today don’t have the freedom to explore the entire area without trespassing, but I’m so glad that the zoo is preserving this historical site. I apreciate you featuring the location on your website to let others know about it’s history .

Leave a Reply

